ECRA

ع
Vision2030
Skip Navigation LinksECRA > Home > About ECRA > About ECRA

About ECRA

​​​About us

Electricity & Cogeneration Regulatory Authority (ECRA) was established  pursuant to Council of Ministers Resolution No.(236) dated 27/8/1422 A.H to regulate the electricity and water desalination industry in Saudi Arabia in addition to district cooling​, water and wastewater treatment services (except for water wells) as well as the distribution of dry gas and liquid petroleum gas (LPG) for residential and commercial purposes.

Our Vision

To foster development of the electricity, water desalination, district cooling industries, water and wastewater treatment services as well as the distribution of dry gas and liquid petroleum gas (LPG) for residential and commercial purposes in order to attain the stage of economic sustainability, while:

  • Guaranteeing that the service provided meets the highest international standards of quality, efficiency, and coverage.
  • Protecting these industries against the cagaries of economic fluctuations, so that they can continue to serve as strong buttresses for the growth and flourishing of the national economy.

Our Mission

To insure that supplies of electricity, desalinated water products, district cooling industries, water and wastewater treatment services as well as​ the distribution of dry gas and liquid petroleum gas (LPG) for residential and commercial purposes provided to consumers in the Kingdom are:

  • Adequate.
  • Reliable.
  • Of high quality.
  • Reasonably priced.

Our Goals and Objectives

  • Protection of the public interest and rights of consumers andservice providers.
  • Promotion of consumer oriented electricity, water desalination, and cogeneration services that protect the consumer's right of choice among competing service providers.
  • Encouragement of private sector investors to participate and invest in the development of the Saudi electricity and water desalination industry, protecting their interests, and enabling them to realize fair economic returns on their investments.
  • Formation of a clear, transparent, stable and non-discriminatory regulatory framework for the electricity and water desalination industry.
  • Creation of a favorable environment that encourages legitimate and fair competition among providers and suppliers of electricity and water desalination.

​​​​Our Responsibilities

To achieve ECRA's objectives the government has charged it with certain responsibilities that are delineated in the Electricity Law, the law for the distribution of dry gas and liquid petroleum gas (LPG) for residential and commercial purposes​​​​ and the Authority's Charter. Specifically, these responsibilities cover four areas as follows:​

Supply Matters: issuing licenses for generation, transmission, distribution, retailing and trading of electricity and cogeneration services as well as production, trading, and transportation of desalinated water; monitoring licensees' compliance with their license requirements and conditions; development of unified regulatory accounting and reporting procedures for electricity, cogeneration and desalination providers; coordination of the infrastructure of the electricity and water desalination industry and development of the expansion plans of these industries.

Consumer Issues: assessment of tariffs charged for supply of electricity, cogeneration, and water desalination services, periodic review of these tariffs, proposing (as needed) new tariffs to the government, protecting interests of stakeholders in the industry, investigating and resolving complaints by involved parties, and improving industry performance.

Technical Issues: developing and issuing best practice codes and standards, insuring adequacy of the R&D activities of the electricity and water desalination industry, promoting energy conservation measures in coordination with the Ministry of Water and Electricity (MWE), and handling other relevant technical matters.

Organizational and Administrative Tasks: defining public interest with regard to the electricity and water desalination industry, development of regulations for expansion of the infrastructure of the industry, encouraging private sector participation and investments, and issuing periodic reports to the Council of Ministers on costs and tariffs of electricity, cogeneration and desalination  services.

هيئة تنظيم الكهرباء والإنتاج المزدوج

EN
Vision2030

لمحة عن الهيئة

Skip Navigation LinksECRA > الرئيسية > عن الهيئة > لمحة عن الهيئة

لمحة عن الهيئة

​​​​​​​​أُنشئت الهيئة بقرار مجلس الوزراء رقم (٢٣٦) في ١٤٢٢/٨/٢٧هـ لتقوم بتنظيم صناعة الكهرباء وتحلية المياه في المملكة، كما أُضيف لها تنظيم تبريد المناطق، وسلسلة خدمات المياه والصرف الصحي (باستـثـناء الآبار)، وتوزيع الغاز الجاف وغاز البترول السائل للأغراض السكنية والتجارية.

رؤيتـنا

الوصول بخدمات الكهرباء وتبريد المناطق، وخدمات المياه والصرف الصحي، وتوزيع الغاز للأغراض السكنية والتجارية، إلى مرحلة الاستدامة الاقتصادية، مع :

  • ضمان تقديم الخدمة بأفضل المعايير العالمية من حيث الجودة، والكفاءة، والاعتمادية ( الموثوقية )، والشمولية.
  • حماية هذه الخدمات من التقلبات الاقتصادية، لتظل دائماً مرتكزاً لنمو الاقتصاد الوطني وازدهاره.

ر​سالتنا

ضمان أن تكون خدمات الكهرباء وتبريد المناطق، وخدمات المياه والصرف الصحي، وتوزيع الغاز للأغراض السكنية والتجارية​ المقدمة للمستهلك في المملكة العربية السعودية:​
  •  كافية.      ​                         
  •  عالية الجودة.                     
  •  موثوقة ( يعتمد عليها ).
  •  بأسعار عادلة.

أهدافنا

  • حماية المصلحة العامة وحماية حقوق المستهلكين ومقدمي الخدمة.
  • الارتقاء بالخدمات التي تخضع لتنظيم الهيئة بحيث تركز على العناية بالمستهلك وحماية حقه في الاختيار الحر بين مقدمي الخدمة المتنافسين.
  • تشجيع المستثمرين من القطاع الخاص على المشاركة في تطوير تلك الخدمات، وحماية مصالحهم، وتمكينهم من تحقيق عوائد اقتصادية عادلة على استثماراتهم.
  • تكوين إطار تنظيمي لتلك الخدمات يتسم بالوضوح، والشفافية، والاستقرار، وعدم التحيز.
  • العمل على إيجاد بيئة مناسبة تشجع التنافس المشروع والعادل بين منتجي تلك الخدمات، وتشجيع التـنافس كذلك بين مقدميها.​

​مسؤولياتنا

​يتضمن (نظام الكهرباء) و(نظام توزيع الغاز الجاف وغاز البترول السائل للأغراض السكنية والتجارية)، و (تنظيم الهيئة) المسؤوليات التي أناطتها الدولة بالهيئة لتمكينها من تحقيق أهدافها.وعلى وجه الخصوص تتضمن هذه المسؤوليات أربعة مجالات هي:​
  • ​​ أمور الإمدادات: وتشمل إصدار الرخص اللازمة للقيام بأي نشاط من أنشطة الخدمات التي تخضع لتنظيم الهيئة، حسب النظام الخاص بكل خدمة. ومراقبة الالتزام بشروط الرخص، ومتطلباتها الفنية والنظامية، ومتطلبات حماية البيئة. وتطوير إجراءات محاسبية موحدة للكيانات العاملة في أنشطة الخدمات التي تنظمها الهيئة (مما يسهل عملية حساب التكاليف وترشيدها). والقيام بتـنسيق أعمال البنية الأساسية للخدمات التي تـنظمها الهيئة. وتطوير خطط التوسع في هذه الخدمات ومتابعة تنفيذها لضمان وفرتها. ​
  •  شؤون المستهلكين: وتتضمن تقويم التعريفات والأسعار التي تُدفع لقاء الخدمات التي تـنظمها الهيئة، ومراجعة هذه التعريفات والأسعار دورياً، وإذا ظهرت الحاجة إلى تعديل التعريفات أو الأسعار، تقوم الهيئة بتعديل ما يدخل منها في اختصاصها تعديله، وترفع الاقتراح بالتعديل لما يخرج عن صلاحيتها إلى الجهات المختصة في الدولة. ورعاية مصالح ذوي العلاقة في الخدمات التي تنظمها الهيئة. والتحقيق في الشكاوى، وبذل الجهود لحلها. كذلك تحسين أداء الخدمات الخاضعة للتنظيم بوجه عام.
  •  الأمور الفنية: وتتعلق بضمان الالتزام بالمعايير والمقاييس الخاصة بالخدمات التي تنظمها الهيئة. ووضع مؤشرات أداء لمقدمي هذه الخدمات، ومتابعة هذه المؤشرات، وتطويرها، والتأكد من تحقيق مقدمي الخدمات للمستويات المحددة لها. وضمان القيام بقدر كاف من أعمال البحث والتطوير في مجالات الخدمات الخاضعة للتنظيم. كذلك تشجيع تبني إجراءات فعالة لترشيد الاستهلاك، بالتـنسيق مع الجهات ذات العلاقة، ورفع كفاءة الأداء، وخفض التكاليف.
  •  المهمات الإدارية والتنظيمية: وتشمل العمل على تحقيق المصلحة العامة بالنسبة للخدمات التي تنظمها الهيئة. وتطوير التـنظيمات الخاصة بالتوسع في هذه الخدمات. وتطوير خطط طويلة المدى لمشاريع تلك الخدمات، ومتابعة تـنفيذها. وتشجيع القطاع الخاص للمساهمة والاستثمار في تلك الخدمات. وتقديم تقارير دورية إلى مجلس الوزراء عن أداء الخدمات التي تخضع لتـنظيم الهيئة، وتكاليف الإنتاج، وتعريفات تلك الخدمات وأسعارها.